Week 1 Dry July 2020 Alcohol-Free Inspiration Review boats on river

Dry July 2020 Week 1 Alcohol-Free Review

 In a world full of conflicting messages about how and why we should drink, a world where health-conscious people are encouraged to continue choosing alcohol no matter what the possible health risks, a world with products like spiked sparkling water, vegan wine and red-fruit infused gin, and a world where Mommy’s Time Out wine is drunk at Wine O’clock, there is a drink for every occasion and every occasion requires a drink. In that world, where there is tremendous pressure to drink daily and see that as normal, Dry July gives us another focus for thirty days. How to enjoy life WITHOUT the booze.

read more – There Has Never Been a Better Time to Take a Break From the Booze

Week 1 Dry July 2020 Alcohol-Free Inspiration Review- woman drinking water

If you are doing Dry July, these are some of the benefits that you may well feel in as little as 30 days alcohol-free :

  • 1 – Having your mornings back (heck even your evenings!).
  • 2 – Having clarity on what you have done or said the night before.
  • 3 – Being able to live up to promises you have made – including being more present with loved ones and yourself.
  • 4 – healthier body and mind.
  • 5 – saving LOADS of money.

read moreDry July 2020 Inspiration – Day One

Man at waterfall - Week 1 Dry July 2020 Alcohol-Free Inspiration Review

To stay inspired for my day 2 of Dry July 2020 I remember

Things I love about being alcohol – free
I can drive anytime of the day 🏋🏼‍♂️
I can remember everything 🤸🏼‍♀️
I am calmer & less anxious 🦁
My conscience is clear ✨
I’m never nauseous 🤮
I’ve lost weight 🙌🏼
I sleep soooo well 🛌


Are you struggling to stay alcohol-free ? read more here How to NOT open a Bottle at Wine o’Clock

read more – Alcohol-Free Inspiration for Dry July 2020 – Day 2

Week 1 Dry July 2020 Alcohol-Free Inspiration Review - woman swimming in cove

Thoughts on Dopamine and Sober Treats

There is a lot of misinformation out there about drinking and alcohol. I learned so much after I stopped drinking that helped me understand why it was so hard for me to go alcohol-free in the first place. Over all of the many years that I was trying to stop drinking – before I finally did manage it, one of the things that I did not understand was the importance of replacing my treat of drinking with a sober treat – and how to do that.

What is my favorite sober treat? I love how accessible calm has become.

Did you know that in the early months and especially in the early days alcohol-free, Dopamine is released in your brain not just when you drink but when you DECIDE to drink – so if you talk yourself into heading to the store for a bottle or talk your partner into heading to the store for a bottle … the Dopamine starts to fire in your brain – REWARD REWARD REWARD … and your brain begins to drool like Pavlov’s dog.

It’s not just the chemical reaction that occurs when the alcohol hits the dopamine release valve, there is a chemical reaction in your brain that hits the dopamine release valve just because you made the decision– just because you are Planning to drink. This is where community support and accountability comes in. It’s really important to call yourself out to someone who knows that you are invested in NOT drinking today, whether for Dry July or long term. – get in here and post – before you make the decision- at the moment that you start to think about it . Typing out your intention and getting a quick response from people who understand why you need to stay the course, is tremendously powerful!

read more – Alcohol-Free Inspiration for Dry July 2020 – Day 3 Sober Treats

Water fight - Week 1 Dry July 2020 Alcohol-Free Inspiration Review

Count your blessings. Life’s a blast, if only you know it.

Act like you are in charge. Don’t think or talk like a victim, someone who can’t stop drinking. Actually, alcohol is powerless – unless you lift the glass, it can do nothing.

read more – Dry July 2020 Inspiration, Day 4 Weekend 1

 Even if you are dealing with a bit of detox discomfort – what is the biggest inspiration for a Dry July? – one month alcohol – free means No Hangovers! And that is a gift to smile about indeed!

Dry July 2020 Day 5 Smile

S Sobriety is
M Medicine for your
Insides
L Life &
E Everything

read more- Dry July 2020, Day 5 Alcohol-Free Inspiration

Is going sober boring? One of the biggest challenges people face in the first few weeks alcohol – free, is that feeling that nothing is quite as fun without alcohol. It’s not that life is not fun without alcohol, quite the contrary actually. Those of us who have been sober long term have found that life off the hamster wheel of drink, drunk, regret is considerably more fun. But it takes some time to get there. In the first few weeks sober, feeling the fun is something that your brain may not be quite adept at yet, alcohol – free. If you’re curious about why that is this post explains the science of it in a unique and entertaining way. The alcohol effect on middle aged “fun” sensors.

Here’s some food for thought on alcohol-free fun for this Day 6 of Dry July 2020.

read more – Dry July 2020, Day 6 Alcohol-Free Inspiration

Week 1 Dry July 2020 Alcohol-Free Inspiration Review - woman relaxing with puppy in grass

In my lifetime there have never been more uncertain times. Australia seemed to have managed the first wave of the Covid pandemic quickly and efficiently but suddenly large areas are in lockdown. The second wave of Covid in the United States has started almost before the first wave rolled to shore. Bars and restaurants that were open are now closing and it is predictable that the same sort of sudden rise in Covid cases will follow the recent opening of pubs in Britain. Covid loves a party.

It can be hard to catch your breath emotionally from day to day even if the only news you allow in are a few headlines. Many people will say that these uncertain times are best managed with a drink or four, to dull the harsh edges of reality. Times of crisis are times when drinking away the pain is encouraged most but, if you have committed to staying dry this July, to going alcohol-free for a short term detox, or to staying sober long term here is some inspiration to help you stay focused.

read more – Dry July 2020, Day 7 Inspiration to Stay Alcohol-Free Today

If you’re “sober curious” … If you are drinking too much too often and want to stop or take a break…or if you have stopped drinking and are trying to stick to sober! Talk to Us. 

We are an independent, anonymous and private community who share resources, support and talk it through every day. It helps to have a community behind you in a world where alcohol is the only addictive drug that people will question you for NOT using

You can read more about us Here And join  Here

community support 24-7 or sign up and sign in here

Don’t let the shame of the stigma keep you from saying

“I think I have a problem with drinking”