Two Puzzle pieces Dry July 2020 Week 2 in Review

Dry July 2020 Week 2 Review

When I stopped drinking five years ago, I was participating in an online community where some people were committed to never drinking again and others to a short term alcohol detox like Dry July. What I learned in that community that I may not have learned in a community strictly focused on long term sobriety, was that staying sober is literally living the day that you are in. It is about choosing to stay alcohol-free today and not worrying about what tomorrow will bring.

It is just so tempting
To have a day off
Haven’t I worked hard enough?
There has to be joy in life right?
I can handle a few
And not look a sight

But you have chosen to stay alcohol free today! So enjoy that day and let yourself relax : It’s day 8 of Dry July so sit back and relax. Own the space and the day that you are in. related reading How to Stop Drinking Away the Pain

Dry July 2020, Day 8 Alcohol- Free Inspiration



Are you struggling with stress and anxiety at the state of the world? Every day lately feels like fighting the dragon, like we are in a futuristic dystopian thriller. There has truly never been a better July to stay dry than this one. We need our wits about us, we need to protect our health, and save our resources.

Staying Dry this July in 2020 may feel surreal so here is some alcohol-fee inspiration for you on Day 9 of Dry July. It may feel like we are losing the battle but we can win the war. Start by staying alcohol-free today.

Dry July 2020, Day 9 Alcohol-Free Inspiration


Be sensible, be wise, you know what to do 🤔

The choice is entirely up to you

But before you drink, think 🧠

Stay at home 🏠

Protect your immune system

And let it protect you ❤


On Day 10 of Dry July are you Triggered? Craving? Ruminating?

STOP!

The goal is to stop any automatic reaction and replace it with meaningful action.

S: Literally Stop what you are doing.

T: Take a step back, literally.

O: Observe: internally (thoughts/feelings), externally (environment).

P: Proceed mindfully.

In my experience, triggers and urges do not come out of the blue. When I stop and check in, I can connect the dots. I had 9 months of effective and sustained sobriety when I relapsed. Had I used the STOP method, I think I would have had a different outcome.

Sober & Free

Dry July 2020, Day 10 Alcohol-Free Inspiration


Whether you are on Day 11 of Dry July, or on day one alcohol-free, you are doing something great for yourself. Today I just passed 1 month sober and am feeling great! Yes relief, healing, etc etc. There is NOTHING to be afraid of going AF and EVERYTHING to gain. I once heard a quote about being alcohol-free.

We are all terrified to go into the woods of sobriety, but the deeper in we get the more we realize that there was nothing to be afraid of.

To be honest, I could not imagine putting alcohol into my body right now. It is so much easier to deal with my lizard brain with a few days of living alcohol free, than it was when I was still drinking. I know that If I drink, I would lose that. I’ve been told that living alcohol free is like putting coins in a piggy bank. If you start drinking again you crack that bank open and start over.

Read more – How to Override Your Lizard Brain

Dry July 2020, Day 11 Alcohol-Free Inspiration


Alcohol-Free is going against societal norms but is the ultimate way to live a free, fulfilling life!


Alcohol-free is living with integrity – my thoughts are aligned with my actions


Alcohol-free is thriving instead of dying.


A clearer mind


Alcohol-Free is sometimes extremely hard, sometimes effortless, always worth it!


Alcohol-free is the place I was destined to make a home in.


Alcohol- free is a decision I will not regret

Alcohol-Free is…? Dry July 2020, Day 12 Inspiration

It is day 13 of Dry July 2020 today.

There have been so many curve balls thrown us this year. So many reasons that may seem to justify a drink. But if you think deeply about why you drink and what the result is over days and weeks, I assume that you will remember why you decided to take a break. 

The cause and effect scenarios of alcohol vs life that are in this post today, were written by members of our online community BOOM Rethink the Drink, who have learned to live alcohol-free and love it, long term. Not because it was easy but because they faced it, they faced the lies that they were telling themselves and they faced the lies that alcohol, and the culture that sells it, sell to us every day.

If you committed to Dry July and are finding that you are struggling more than you expected write down Why you are drinking and what the result is. Is alcohol giving you what it promised? Or have you had enough of the lies?

This is how you do it – The MAGIC TRICK and whether you are committed to Dry July or sober for life You do not kick The Fuck it Bucket today. ( posts in blue titles )

Dry July 2020 Day 13, Alcohol-Free Inspiration


A Dry(ish) July? Dry July in Australia is not about committing to sobriety long term. It is a month-long challenge to raise money for people affected by cancer, like running a marathon. There has always been an out written into the rules of Dry July. Even if you commit to the 31 days alcohol-free you can purchase gold tickets to get a night off here and there for special events. Events that pose an extra challenge like weddings and boozy works events. The suggestion with the Gold Tickets of course is that there are some situations where you simply have to drink.

This year Dry July has officially gone Dry(ish) due to the pandemic.

I disagree that the pandemic has made drinking alcohol essential. Quite the contrary really. In my opinion, there has never been a better time to go sober. There are a lot of things that many of us do not have a choice about right now. We may have to continue to stay at home. We may have to wear masks when we go out. We may not be able to work in our chosen field anymore. Our children who were off at university may suddenly be home. Not having control of how long the Covid19 lockdown may last is hard. Not having choices about our daily lives is putting many of us in a sort of dull, standstill. But there is one choice that you can definitely make for yourself. There is one thing that you definitely have control over.

If you are finding that you are drinking too much and it’s deepening your sense of isolation, Alcohol is NOT essential. You do Not have to drink. If you are looking for inspiration to stay alcohol-free today, whether as part of a Dry(ish) July or a larger alcohol-free plan – Be PROUD! that you are chosing not to drink today, Feel HOPE!

Dry(ish) July 2020, Day 14 Alcohol-Free Inspiration

Is Alcohol Essential to Survive Covid19 or Have you Had Enough?


If you’re “sober curious” … If you are drinking too much too often and want to stop or take a break…or if you have stopped drinking and are trying to stick to sober! Talk to Us. 

We are an independent, anonymous and private community who share resources, support and talk it through every day. It helps to have a community behind you in a world where alcohol is the only addictive drug that people will question you for NOT using

You can read more about us Here And join  Here

community support 24-7 or sign up and sign in here

Don’t let the shame of the stigma keep you from saying

“I think I have a problem with drinking”


How do you go Sober? ( more reading in blue titles)

B Be accountable Talk to Us We Understand
A Avoid alcohol like the plague  Ideas Here
L Let yourself enjoy regular sober treats  Ideas Here
A Allow yourself to cry when needed  Ideas Here
Nourish your body with good food  Ideas Here
C Create happy & fun memories  Ideas Here
E Enjoy the precious moments in your day Ideas Here

W Work hard to get what you want Ideas Here
O Organise things for less stress  Ideas Here
Realise you can’t control it all Ideas Here
K Keep going & prepare for success Ideas Here
S Sleep enough for body & mind rest Sleep